Plant Portraits

I love poppies, and I particularly love this gorgeous orange one, Papaver rupifragum. The insects love it, too.

P rupifragum and visitor

Convolvulus can be a menace in the garden, but this one is charming.

Convolvulus

I love eryngiums. This steely colour is fabulous.

Eryngium

When I first got this plant I was excited because I thought it was Geranium maderense, but it’s actually a close relative, G palmatum, also found in Madeira, and I think perhaps more beautiful, though less spectacular. I have seen this growing wild in Madeira. It’s a modest self-seeder and almost hardy. I’m very fond of it.

G palmatum

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

